Cadaver Reflection

This was something I scribbled down quite a while ago, it was part of a competition I entered a while back that focused on the theme of body image.

So, I though it best to put a warning that this story does centre on a horribly distorted body image with elements of an eating disorder. So, if this is something you may find uncomfortable or distressing, then you may want to give this a miss.

If not, then if you click ‘Read More’ you can read the story.


Cadaver Reflection – By Patrick Ward

I look ahead to see a shirtless corpse stand before me, with bones seeming on the edge of bursting out from the confines of the skin, a rib cage that can be seen through the chest, like some monstrous xylophone.

With hips that jut out horribly, supporting an emaciated and cadaverous bundle of pallor skin laid atop of some ill-fitting bones.

This shrunken and shriveled form, with its ashen hue, raises a skeletal hand upwards. With its claw-like bone appendages, curling inwards to the palm as some gothic wave.

I wave back, I see that the image before me, is of my own reflection.

I feel disgusted, my body is destroyed…it is akin to some monstrosity of horror.

A malformation…

Even my face, the mask I show everyone borders on the sickening.

I look ill, there is no denying that. Dark circles surround my sunken eyes, my pasty skin, that would better suit a dead body.

I am hideous.


Copyright © 2013 – 2016 Patrick Ward – All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

